#FemWritQuotes from Outlander

Leave a comment

July 27, 2017 by femvestige

Have you ever read the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon? If not, you should because they are glorious! Incorporating historical fiction (x3 different time periods bonus) and fantasy – that’s my ideal jam of book. Outlander follows Claire Randall/Fraser through her journey as a time traveler – going from WWII Nurse to 18th Century highlander. The story is an epic romance immersed in the heart of Scottish history. What I love  about this book is how absolutely genuine Claire’s journey with the love of her life is. The quote I chose really embodies the nature of Claire’s loves:

“Not for the first time, I reflected that intimacy and romance are not synonymous.” – Diana Gabaldon, Outlander

This quote is really timeless. What is romance? “A feeling of excitement or mystery associated with love.” What is intimacy? “Closely acquainted; familiar, close.” These are Mirrium-Webster dictionary definitions. In the context of these definitions, this quote could be referring to romance as frivolous in comparison to intimacy… or perhaps intimacy is boring in comparison to romance? It’s interesting – it can be interpreted in different ways based on the interpreter’s experience.

For me – romance encompasses small acts of love and affection, it’s the deep belly butterflies that make me feel excited, and the external showing of our connection.

Intimacy is different on many levels for me: it’s making love and showing my lover that I I am with him in this moment. It’s sharing the deepest parts of myself – both pain and joy – and allowing myself to be vulnerable in his arms. It’s the sharing of our vulnerabilities, the sharing of our greatest fears, our greatest dreams, and being able to share a look and understand one another.

In this context, I can have both.

In the eyes of a person out on the prowl for the one night stand – they may experience both or none. It’s all about perspective.

That’s why I like this quote, it allows me to explore both romance and intimacy through different lenses. I want to share it now with you!

 

OutlanderQuote

Leave a comment

Most Recent Reviews

Goodreads

The Other Fem: Feminine Vestige

Seeds of Memory

If I make a wish for my memories to fade on the wisps of a seed taken on the wind, will they find their way on the back of butterfly wings and spread like weeds in someone else’s pasture?

© All Rights Reserved

All content published on this site is protected under the DMCA. All content published on this blog is originally produced by the author unless otherwise noted.

Unauthorized use or duplication of content or photos is strictly prohibited without direct written consent of the author of this blog.

© Fem ♀ Writ