Top 10 Books of 2016

Leave a comment

March 30, 2017 by femvestige

I realize this is a little belated, but everyone loves a good list. My previous discussion post about picking the next book highlighted lists as a pretty excellent method. I read 42 books in 2016 (just under my current reading challenge). Most of the books I read via audiobook so I will tell you in the list if the audio was part of what made it so great!

Let me tell you my top 10 favorite books of 2016.

  1.  A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
    I listened to this book, and I was delighted by the Brooklyn accent. I loved ‘watching’ Francie grow up and change. I also loved Francie’s mother, and how hard she worked. This is a great coming of age story, and really lovely relationships are built.
  2. Voyage of the Sable Venus and Other Poems by Robin Coste Lewis
    This book is full of beautiful and at times disturbing poetry. It is incredibly moving, with vivid imagery and language. The book moves through different types of poetry and really focuses on an issue that is very prevalent today: race.
  3. Hidden Bodies (You, #2) by Caroline Kepnes
    This book is disturbing, thrilling, and confusing. You find yourself liked the central despicable character, Joe. And while you are rooting for Joe’s antics, you have to pause and reevaluate yourself as you realize that this novel is about a serial killer. However, unlike the popular TV show Dexter where the character kills criminals, Joe’s moral compass is completely skewed.
  4. Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike, #3) by Robert Galbraith
    I really like to Cormoran Strike series. I love listening to them and hearing the grisly low voice as Cormoran, the less-than-perfect disabled hero and detective. I like that our hero is imperfect and that he has a competent and intelligent woman working with him. I recommend reading the series from the beginning, though. It starts with The Cuckoo’s Calling
  5. The Witches: Salem, 1692 by Stacey Schiff
    This book was great albeit slow to get in to. A lot of research went into this book, and Schiff portrays the events of 1692 as story unfolding. This makes it easier to understand and follow. If you like nonfiction told in a story format, this book is great!
  6. Moonlighting In Vermont (A Bree MacGowan Mystery #1) by Kate George
    I have to put a local gal in here – I love books written in my home state Vermont. What I loved about this book is that our heroin is so real. I also like that the reality of farm life is so present, such as feeding the animals and getting someone to care for them in absence. These details tend to be lost in crime books, but not here. It was well worth the read.
  7. Euphoria by Lily King
    I received this book in an online book exchange, and I really loved it. It is filled with cultural color and background, and is a riveting tale of a love triangle in the midst of primitive lands. The language and imagery is fantastic.
  8. Room by Emma Donoghue
    Once used to the style of writing, this book was fast-paced and interesting. The plot is sad and twisted, but the story about relationship between parent and child in the midst of trauma is heart warming.
  9. Summerland by Erin Hilderbrand
    This book was sad but heartwarming. It’s another book centered around relationships in the midst of tragedy – sensing a theme here, eh? This is what most would call a ‘summer’ read, but I doesn’t make you feel warm and fuzzy. It is a fast read though, and it ends happily enough.
  10. Defending Jacob by William Landay
    This was the last book I read in 2016 and it left me with a lot of pondering. Science, genetics, crime, and flashbacks are all present in this book. There are not many likeable characters, but you become invested in the story. It has a really great twist of an ending.
  11. BONUS: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
    I read this book for the first time in 2016 (audio) and fell in love. I love Jane’s spite and independence. I love Mr. Rochester’s growth in character despite his poor judgment. I love the language. I will read this again and again. If you haven’t read it yet – put it on that to-read list ASAP.

download

That’s my top 10 books I read in 2016. I hope you enjoyed the list – and please add your own!

~Fem

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

The Other Fem: Feminine Vestige

Women’s Issues Poll

Where do you go to learn about women’s issues? When you want to ask a question about your health or sex, do you have a designated person to speak with without judgment? Do you understand the issues in legislation or policy that are affecting you? There seems to be a puncture in our system of […]

© All Rights Reserved

All content published on this site is protected under the DMCA. All content published on this blog is originally produced by the author unless otherwise noted.

Unauthorized use or duplication of content or photos is strictly prohibited without direct written consent of the author of this blog.

© Fem ♀ Writ

